Skip to main content

Mary Betty Stevens, MD, Young Investigator Prize

The Lupus Foundation of America established, in 2009, the Mary Betty Stevens, MD, Young Investigator Prize, to be given annually in recognition of the exceptional achievements of an investigator in the early part of his or her independent career in lupus research. This award was created to memorialize Dr. Stevens' outstanding contributions to lupus research over the course of her long career.

2019 Awardee

This year’s awardee, Candace Feldman, MD, MPH, ScD, was announced at the 2019 Annual American College of Rheumatology Annual Meeting.

Candace Feldman, MD, MPH, ScD
Candace Feldman, MD, MPH, ScD

Dr. Feldman, Assistant Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and an Associate Physician at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, is committed to studying lupus disparities, and improving health care access and outcomes for people with lupus as a social epidemiology researcher. She has conducted many seminal studies on incidence, risk factors, infections, renal disease, medication adherence and lupus care with a focus on vulnerable populations. As a young investigator in the lupus research field, her ongoing research has and will continue to make a significant impact on the lives of people with lupus.

About Dr. Mary Betty Stevens

Mary Betty Stevens, MD, FACP, FACR, graduated from Vassar College in 1948 and went on to receive her degree in medicine from Johns Hopkins University, where she remained for the duration of her illustrious career. While at Johns Hopkins, Dr. Stevens was appointed Chair of the Division of Rheumatology and thus became the first woman to occupy a Division Chair in the Department of Medicine at Johns Hopkins. She was also Director of Rheumatology at Good Samaritan Hospital. Dr. Stevens developed the Hopkins-Good Samaritan Rheumatic Disease Unit, which became renowned for clinical research on lupus and vasculitis.

Dr. Stevens was unfailingly enthusiastic about teaching, patient care, and research. She was widely admired as a devoted physician, a masterful clinician, and an inspirational teacher who encouraged those around her to question the science, push the boundaries, and excel. It is because of this passion that Dr. Stevens attracted hundreds of medical students, residents, and fellows to study at her side.

In 1991, three years before her death, she received the Distinguished Rheumatologist Award from the American College of Rheumatology. The recipient of many other awards and honors, Dr. Stevens particularly cherished the George J. Stuart Award she was given in 1971 for excellence in clinical teaching.