Skip to main content

Evelyn V. Hess, MD Award

In 2005, we created the Evelyn V. Hess, MD, MACP, MACR, Award to recognize a lupus researcher whose body of work has significantly advanced the science or medicine of lupus. This award is given annually and was created to recognize Dr. Hess' outstanding contributions to lupus research over the course of her long career.

This year’s awardee, Dr. Michelle Petri, was announced at the 2018 Annual American College of Rheumatology Annual Meeting.

Dr. Petri, Director of the Hopkins Lupus Center and Co-Director of the Hopkins Lupus Pregnancy Center, was honored for her extensive contributions and impact in the field of lupus over the last 30 years. She is the Principal Investigator of the Hopkins Lupus Cohort, which includes more than 2,000 participants. The Hopkins Lupus Cohort is a 30-year longitudinal study assessing the relationship among cardiovascular risk factors, gene markers, and disease activity. The cohort has made important contributions to the understanding of corticosteroid toxicity in lupus, the role hydroxychloroquine plays in reducing cardiovascular risk factors and thrombosis, and the risk factors for atherosclerosis in lupus. Dr. Petri is also known for her collaboration with fellow experts and her role in developing lupus disease activity measures, such as the Physician Global Assessment and Lupus Activity Index. Throughout her career, Dr. Petri has mentored students, residents, fellows, and faculty – something that she continues to do to support and inspire the next generation of lupus researchers.

Past awardees have made significant contributions, such as:

  • Discovery of t-cell abnormalities, leading to new therapeutic targets: Dr. George Tsokos, 2014 recipient
  • Identifying specific risk factors for pregnancy loss in lupus: Dr. Jane Salmon, 2014 recipient
  • Opening rheumatology clinics in underserved areas: Dr. Betty Diamond, 2008 recipient
  • Identification of risk factors for congenital heart block in babies born to women with lupus: Dr. Jill Buyon, 2007 recipient

About Dr. Hess  

Evelyn V. Hess, M.D., MACP, MACR, was an internationally known expert in lupus, focusing on the environmental aspects of lupus. After her residency in London, she began her teaching career at the University of Cincinnati's College of Medicine in 1965 and was the Director of the Division of Immunology from 1965 to 1995. She received a College of Medicine Endowed Chair and held the McDonald Professorship at the University of Cincinnati College Of Medicine since 1969.

In 2001, she was awarded the University of Cincinnati Drake Medal for distinguished service to the College and was also recognized through a fund for the Evelyn V. Hess Chair in Rheumatology to support faculty and fellow salaries for research and education in rheumatic diseases in the Division of Immunology/Rheumatology.

Dr. Hess was a Master of both the American College of Rheumatology and the American College of Physicians, and she was a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Academy of Allergy and Immunology, and the Royal Society of Medicine. She served as Governor of the Ohio chapter of the American College of Physicians and was an active member of many national and international societies, including the Pan American League of Associations for Rheumatology, the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, and the International Society of Immuno-Pharmacology.