Skip to main content

Congressional Lupus Caucus

We worked tirelessly with our champions in Congress to establish the first-ever Congressional Lupus Caucus in 2012.

In the United States Congress, a caucus is a group of lawmakers who share an interest in a particular issue and come together to discuss and advance policies related to it. Caucuses allow legislators to work directly with their colleagues on the issues that they’re passionate about.

Since 2012, the Caucus has grown to include more than 50 members in the 117th Congress, all united by a connection to lupus and a desire to fight back. The Caucus works to raise awareness about lupus among their colleagues on Capitol Hill and push forward legislation to allocate more funding to lupus research and education, accelerate drug development, and more.

Congressional Lupus Caucus Co-Chairs
Rep. Bill Keating

Original Co-Chair; Representing Massachusetts in Congress since 2011.

Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson

Co-Chair since 2015; Representing Texas' 30th congressional district since 1993.

Rep. Andrew Garbarino

Co-Chair since 2021; Representing New York's 2nd congressional district since 2021.

Members of the Congressional Lupus Caucus have been instrumental in many of our advocacy victories since 2012.

  • The Caucus circulates yearly Dear Colleague letters in support of critical funding for lupus research and education programs. Dear Colleague letters allow members of Congress to voice their support for funding proposals before the annual appropriations process begins. View the Caucus' fiscal year 2022 Dear Colleague letter.
  • In early 2015, the Caucus asked the National Institutes of Health to update their 2007 report on the landscape of lupus research, leading to the Action Plan for Lupus Research.
  • Each year, Congressional Lupus Caucus members participate in Put on Purple Day to raise lupus awareness among their colleagues on Capitol Hill. 
  • Caucus members frequently participates in briefings for legislators and their staff about the devastating toll of lupus, including at the 2018 National Lupus Advocacy Summit.
Former Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
I look forward to working with my Congressional colleagues and the Lupus Foundation of America as we work to better understand this debilitating disease and give a voice and hope to its sufferers and their loved ones.
Former Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
On the founding of the Congressional Lupus Caucus in 2012

Members of the Congressional Lupus Caucus in the 117th Congress

  • Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX)
  • Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA)
  • Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA)
  • Rep. Anthony Brown (D-MD)
  • Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-IL)
  • Rep. André Carson (D-IN)
  • Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-TX)
  • Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN)
  • Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK)
  • Rep. Gerald Connolly (D-VA)
  • Rep. Paul Cook (D-CA)
  • Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
  • Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL)
  • Rep. Debbie Dingell (D-MI)
  • Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)
  • Rep. Tom Emmer (R-MN)
  • Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)
  • Rep. Pramila Japayal (D-WA)
  • Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
  • Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA)
  • Rep. Bill Keating (D-MA)
  • Rep. Ro Khanna (D-CA)
  • Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
  • Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA)
  • Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
  • Rep. Alan Lowenthal (D-CA)
  • Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO)
  • Rep. Stephen Lynch (D-MA)
  • Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)
  • Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY)
  • Rep. Lucy McBath (D-GA)
  • Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-NY)
  • Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-CA)
  • Rep. Donald Norcross (D-NJ)
  • Rep. Tom O'Halleran (D-AZ)
  • Rep. Donald Payne, Jr. (D-NJ)
  • Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
  • Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL)
  • Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD)
  • Rep. Kathleen Rice (D-NY)
  • Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)
  • Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (D-PA)
  • Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)
  • Rep. David Scott (D-GA)
  • Rep. Brad Sherman (D-CA)
  • Rep. Darren Soto (R-FL)
  • Rep. Nydia M. Velazquez (D-NY)
  • Rep. Ann Wagner (R-MO)
  • Rep. Frederica Wilson (D-FL)
  • Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)
  • Rep. John Yarmuth (D-KY)
Grow the Congressional Lupus Caucus

If your Representative isn’t on the Congressional Lupus Caucus, in just a few clicks you can let them know how lupus has changed your life and ask them to support you by joining the Caucus. And if they already are on the Caucus, send them a note of gratitude!

Contact Your Representative