Skip to main content
Providing Answers, Support and Hope in Missouri, Southern Illinois, & Eastern Kansas
This is my chapter   |   
Your Lupus Partner in the Heartland

Providing lupus education, information and support in Missouri, eastern Kansas and southern Illinois

The Lupus Foundation of America, Heartland Chapter is part of a national force devoted to solving the cruel mystery of lupus while providing caring support to those who suffer from its brutal impact. Through a comprehensive program of research, education, support, and advocacy, we lead the fight to improve the quality of life for all people affected by lupus.

The Heartland Chapter provides programs and services for the estimated 50,000 people living with lupus in Missouri, eastern Kansas and southern Illinois.  We provide a variety of services including lupus information and referral, monthly support groups, educational workshops and conferences, and a summer camp for girls with lupus.

2016-2017 Heartland Chapter Annual Report

2017-2018 Heartland Chapter Annual Report

Guidestar Silver Level Profile

June 2019 e-newsletter

October 2019 e-newsletter


Our Mission

Our mission is to improve the quality of life for all people affected by lupus through programs of research, education, support and advocacy. We are focused on achieving the following disease-specific outcomes:

Reduce the time to diagnosis
Ensure people with lupus have an arsenal of safe and effective treatments
Expand direct services and increase access to treatment
About Our Chapter
Chapter Staff

Amy Ondr, President & CEO
[email protected]

Beka Rich, Events & Operations Manager
[email protected]

Rosemary Chustak, MSW, Patient Services Manager
[email protected]

Heartland Chapter Board of Directors

Chair of the Board
Burnis J. Chitwood

Vice Chair of the Board
Austin M. Dalrymple, DO

Jewel McDaniels

Therese Tryniecki Cross, PhD

Board Members
Evan Campbell
Tony Centracchio
Joel O. Christensen
Kevin Cheung
Eian Clinkscale
Ann Fisher-Jackson
Mitchelle Price
Chad Ronholm, MD
Chad M. Stiening
Tony Taylor
Katherine Temprano, MD
Marti J. Thomas